Living Life According to Laurie Cabot’s Twitter Account: An Experiment

Today is the birthday of Laurie Cabot, the official witch of Salem, Massachusetts and the one maxresdefaultwe can all thank for popularizing modern witchcraft in North America.

She’s also 83 years old, has the best witch hair I’ve seen and wears more black eyeliner than I own. To say she’s a witchcraft and fashion icon would be a gross understatement.
She’s badass.

She was born in the 30s in Oklahoma, grew up in California, was an exotic dancer in the 50s, married twice and had 2 daughters in the 60s and moved to Salem. In the 70s when Bewitched (yes the show!) came to Salem, she opened the first witch store in NA. She’s still in Salem, and wears dope ass capes. She does youtube videos, runs a website and online store and is a resource and icon for a lot of witches.

For more badass women check out my blog post Weed, Women & Witches & it’s accompanying podcast episode

She also has twitter. I absolutely follow her on Twitter. Every day she has these little daily bits of advice for the day, and I loved them. They’re quick and to the point, and totally easy to follow. This morning as I’m rubbing last night’s black makeup off of my face and perusing twitter I see that it’s her birthday, and that her advice for today included “A day for research.”

laurietwit1

 And in my pre-coffee state this was a challenge! It’s experiment time. Laurie loves science as it relates to witchcraft, so I figured this was also a good way to celebrate her birthday.  Starting today, I will follow Laurie’s daily advice and report on my findings. How did wearing that make me feel? How did that stone make me feel? Wtf did I research?

So check the blog, facebook, twitter and especially instagram every night this week for a little update about how living life according to Laurie’s twitter can affect your life.

While you’re waiting for today’s update, check out this 2002 video for Godsmack’s Voodoo which, of course, Laurie had a starring role in in her SEVENTIES while wielding a ceremonial sword and setting shit on fire #goals.

7 thoughts on “Living Life According to Laurie Cabot’s Twitter Account: An Experiment

Leave a Reply

